Short Story #01- Being Abandoned

Adib Noh
2 min readJan 14, 2022

--

As I was walking to the food stall next to Masjid Al Hashanah, I saw an abandoned old Mercedes by the roadside. As I approached the car, I saw a cute kitten looking at me with sad eyes. I stopped and squatted on the tarmac and started looking right into its eyes. I saw sadness in the eyes and I felt sad looking at the kitten sitting alone without its mother. May be, it got lost last night and sought refuge inside the broken lamp of an old Mercedes car.

A thought came to my mind of a child being left by his own mother on the shop corridor because he was born out of wedlock. Looking at the kitten, I believe it is quite capable of going back to its mother. I took my smartphone and took this photo.

Continuing my walk to the Warung Kah Yah, I bought two packets of laksam and one pack of nasi lemak with fried fish for the kitten. On the way back, I stopped at the abandoned Mercedes and discovered that the kitten was gone. I looked around but saw no sign of the kitten. Most probably, the kitten was fetched home by its mother.

As I walked home, the encounter with the kitten reminds me of my son’s cat who fell ill and still returned home to die at the gate of my house in Taman Maluri fifteen years ago. But that is another story.

--

--

Adib Noh

Project & Business Consultant/Coach with more than 30 years of experience. I am an engineer,entrepreneur,writer and enjoy cycling and photography.