What is A Passion Project?

Adib Noh
2 min readMay 16, 2022

--

It is something fun that makes you come alive every day. And you love doing it at every opportunity available to you.

I never studied project management at Sheffield University. We were taught only subjects related to civil engineering. When I joined JKR in July 1976, most of my work was related to project management. Sometime in 1978 when I was doing education projects in Kelantan, I saw an advertisement for a two-day course in project management. Those two days changed my life. I began more interested in managing engineering projects than planning and designing engineering work. I fell in love with project management and the rest is history.

Fast forward to 2003, I joined the Project Management Institute and became an active member and my last post was the Director of Public Relations. At the same time, I roped in a few passionate project managers to be my partners in crime to teach Project Management to professionals in the construction industry. Now, I am still doing project management consultancy and training with a particular interest in managing business projects.

I am grateful to INCEIF of Bank Negara for appointing me to conduct Project Management workshop sessions for its master in finance students over the last three years. Now, I am halfway on my journey to write a book entitled Life is A Project by sharing my knowledge and experience through my personal stories.

Owing to COVID-19 Movement Control Orders over the last two years, most of us have more free time at home. Many resorted to social media and got their eyes glued to their mobile phone screen. I chose to differ by using my free time to write a book entitled The Joy of Cycling in Putrajaya. It is available for sale at The Shoppe. That is my passion project.

I am also turning my hobby of photography into a passion project. Every time I go cycling in Putrajaya, I must take photos. A few months ago, I completed a photography ebook entitled The Beauty of Putrajaya in Black & White. It is also available for sale at The Shoppe. My next move is to print and sell the book in August 2022. InsyaAllah.

Instead of spending too much time on social media, why not do something that can make you happy and also earn some money? Identify your passionate project, get involved, fall in love and be happy.

--

--

Adib Noh

Project & Business Consultant/Coach with more than 30 years of experience. I am an engineer,entrepreneur,writer and enjoy cycling and photography.